Through the looking glass

 

Julian Schweke

Julian is an odd combination of overly insecure and extremely cocky, he was brought up in a house with three sisters and one brother. His father owns a very fancy art gallery and his mom is a nurse. Growing up Julian had a great deal of comrodery with his brother and that didn’t stop when they both decided they were going to make a living out of blowing glass, they are both extremely talented at blowing and have work in Fuzzion gallery as well as online on their websites.

IMG_5586.JPG

Julian and I did not always get along, we met at the skate park a few years back through our mutual friend Levi. I had been following Julian on Instagram for a long time before that so I knew he was a really good skateboarder. After a few days of getting to know each other I started to film with him. Every weekend I would go out to Goleta to meet Julian, our goal was to finish a video and get Julian sponsored.. After a few months me and Julian had made him a video to send to companies that was 3 minuets long. We sent it in and Julian ended up getting sponsored by one of the biggest skateboard companies that there is, Anti Hero.

IMG_0110.PNG.jpeg

Recently Julian has moved out of his parents house in Goleta, he saved up enough money from glass that he is able to pay rent by him self. I remember for awhile he never thought he would be able to accomplish that. It is a very big thing to be a artist for a living, many try and many fail.

IMG_0109.PNG.jpeg

I asked Julian what is art and he said ” To me art has always been a way of self expression, I can always go to art when I feel stressed or worried about something, it allows me to express my self in ways that I wouldn’t be able to if I was not an artist.” I think that julian will be creating art for the rest of his life and I’m excited for whats to come and to get to follow along the way.

 

Leave a Reply

